About UWR Open League


UWR Open League (former “UWR Trinations League“) is an underwater rugby championship among clubs of several European countries. By reaching critical mass, it aims to increase the attractivity of UWR in Europe and to serve as a basis for a European Championship. In the last seasons clubs from Italy, Switzerland, Spain, France, Greece, Austria, Sweden and Turkey participated to Open League.

Currently Open League consists of two legs which are organized in different cities. The seasons follow the calendar year. Since 2022 the participating teams are divided in 2 divisions. Teams promote or demote from one division to the other also during the season. The two divisions take place on the same dates, but if in the future the number of the participating teams increases, the two legs will take place in separate dates. For the Season 2023 the first leg will take place in Jesi, Italy on 27-28/5/2023 and the second leg will take place in Athens on 21-22/10/2023. More information regarding season 2023 you may find here.

Open League is officialy established as an Association situated in France. The General Assembly is formed by the member teams, while the management is assigned to a Committee, which is currently constituted of four members.

Open League began as “Trinations League” by the clubs from Switzerland, Italy and Spain. The aim was to improve the underwater rugby competition on a national level among the countries of the member clubs. After 2018 and because of the increasing interest from several teams in joining the league “Trinations League” transformed to “Open League”.